Sims 3, Pass-it-on Story Game?

12 Sep

I had an idea….here is how it happened:

http://anothersims3story.wordpress.com/explaining-the-story/

muhahahhha

Okay, here it is. There’s this Sim or a Sim family or something, and a bunch or a few RL Simmers get together online, and decide to play the game to a certain point, and somehow pass it on to the next Simmer, and they get to play and pass it on to the next simmer, and etc. Maybe the limit is a day. If the group is sort of big, they could make the lifespan a little longer, or if they want to give everyone a longer limit. 😀

The person could play the family or lead the story anyway they wanted, and be as hands-on or -off as possible. It’d be cool because everyone would use a different tone, and annoy each other as much as possible (joke). For example, if this was a love-triangle story and two Simmers preferred the Sim to have certain relationship but with different people, or if this wasn’t a romance story and a Simmer happened to keep swaying that way.

There could be exceptions though….If marriage seems to be too big a choice for one Simmer to make….maybe it could be decided by a vote of the Simmers or the readers…or both. Or it could be as free-wheelin’ as possible.

If this is a competition with no votes, the Simmers could do a sabotage for the story plot (one person or a team conspiracy – hehe, I’d prefer it to be announced in some way though – none of this sneaky business..) and decide to make the Sim have a career in blah or marry someone the others or a person doesn’t want the Sim to marry (and the limit per Simmer is a day, right?). But it’d be in good humor, mu-ha-ha-ha. o_o

Lol, I can imagine my sister and me making the person get divorced, or switch jobs everyday, and eventually someone snaps and kills the sim…but the other person would find out by reading it + screenshots. HAHAHHAHAHA! And if they were self-sims! HAHAHHAHAHAHHHAA! Omigosh, omigosh, X’D

Another form of competition (^^) could be to have each person make a Sim and put them in the neighborhood (oh snap, I just realized something), and make the other Sim being played try to end up with your person or something. Or each Simmer outlines a story plot they’ll [initially, at least] try to follow and sees what happens to the Sim. And on WordPress, multiple…accounts can own one blog…eh….together…ly….Co-authors? Whatever! (quitter -_-).

About the whole killing the lead-sim thing….maybe that wouldn’t be allowed (purposely) until the Sim had a family. Or maybe if it happened accidentally….no save it? But it wouldn’t be as legit that way. Poor, poor Simmer. hehehe…

So, the thing I realized – would we have to send neighborhoods?! Like E-mail?! Wot?! Cause the family only- that would not work – story-line wise! Skra! Snaps, those techie probs. Unless you just made it fit as best as you could, hehe. Maybe no emailing required then…? Or still yes. Since….Meh. Here is where the knitted sweater that is my plan becomes un-done. And it was starting to look so vibrant and shiny too. Oh well. (Narcissist?)

This whole thing is sort of how like when you were a kid playing “pretend” with other kids, and you just went with the flow….Or maybe ended up fighting, but usually it worked out O.K.

In the blog titles, it could be like: “Meezletoe – Miki Meets Bagleboy.”…Baglebot. OO SCIFI TWIST, OH GOSH I WANT TO DO THIS, IT’D BE HILARIOUS! I just remembered something similar that happened in Creative Writing last year (semester class). We had different genres or themes (mine was, augh, romance, I believe. I wept bitterly, but I still forced my insane voice onto it…I should put the story here :D), and we had a group with the other themes (sci-fi, drama, adventure maybe, it’s a blur).

So, that’d be interesting.

Thoughts?

…Hey, I think I’ll send this around….Just to let it get some publicity, in case it has good-idea potential and someone out there wants to do this. Unless this idea has already been inventor-ed. ^^

34 Responses to “Sims 3, Pass-it-on Story Game?”

  1. kansine September 12, 2009 at 3:53 am #

    It sounds really fun and interesting! 😀 I’m just wondering how the realization would work out…
    Where would it be published, for instance? Maybe someone should be the main host of the story or something… O_O Anyhow, I don’t know how the others would send their parts of the story to him… :O Or maybe there would be a main site with lots of links and everyone would continue the story in their own blog or something… O_O (ok, I’m not good with practical things so my suggestions probably suck XP)
    If someone can think of a way to carry it out, I’d definitely like to join the story! 😀 But if it includes downloading whole neighbourhoods, I don’t think I can do it, ’cause my web connection is too slow to even download Riverview, *sniff* 😥
    Some time ago I was thinking that if Alice & Kev will end here, it would be so funny to continue their story in turns 😉 But at least RoBurky keeps saying that he will continue the story, so I guess it would be rude to steal his characters 😀

  2. celara September 12, 2009 at 4:15 am #

    I’ve been toying with an idea very similar to this, actually. When I was on one of the original gaming networks (The Sierra Network, which later became ImagiNation), there used to be a board devoted to just such a story. Someone would start a story, write to a certain point, and then leave their portion on a cliff hanger ending (sometimes in mid sentence), and then someone would pick it up and write the next portion. The stories would often take crazy turns, based on the creativity of the various writers.

    I have tried to think about how to translate that into the realm of Sims3. I think you’d want to have it not as a competition, but rather as a kind of writer’s circle that people could join and leave as they have the time. Is one day of gameplay enough? Is a week too much? How do you share the files?

    It’s tough, but it’s a challenge I’d be interested to see if anyone else is willing to try as well. 🙂

  3. ♥Mikayla♥ September 12, 2009 at 7:35 am #

    So there is a way to share the blog? Hmmm, I think it’s an awesome idea!! That would be soooo cool!! 😀 How did you get all this from my explaining the story? hahaha 😀
    Well I’m in!

  4. Samantha September 12, 2009 at 10:03 am #

    OOOOH, I wanna do iiiiiiiit!!!!! It would be totally funnesss!

    Something we could do for the neighborhood thing is instead of neighborhoods we get a large lot and make it a community on its own…like 5 houses on one lot. I think if we can transport the neighborhood it would be better.

    Since multiple people would be playing a sims life is so short so it might be wise to set the life-span a little longer. Also one day is too short and I agree with Celara that one week may be too long….3 days would be good (unless the sims is pregnant then it would go to one day so that as many authors have the chance to play the pregnancy as possible). 3 days would allow 1 day to figure what the sim is doing, 1 day to change the storyline a bit to your own creativity, and finally the last day to complete and end with a cliffhanger. I think large events like weddings should be voted by the readers.

    If we did this as well and we did neighborhoods NOT just households we could work together to make a unique neighborhood so that all the characters would be new to the readers – with all the blogs now maxis sims have a variety of stories already.

    I think the steps to doing this would be:
    1) test the possibility of sending neighborhoods via email (neighborhood would be sunset valley and after knowing emailing it would work we need to test it with Kansine’s computer and see if she can download it)

    2) if it doesn’t work a brainstorming process would be necessary to decide how to continue with the idea if its possible. BUT if it does work we’d need to create a shared blog (a good domain would be passit or communitysims)

    3) if chosen to create a neighborhood from scratch build up the neighborhood. We’d need to decide on the characters – if there are 5 authors then each one can choose a trait (more/less would need to talk together and decide.

    making the sim would be difficult because not all the authors could make 1. what could be done is the basics could be decided as a group…hair/eye/skin color, weight, and beginning defaults. Then each person would make 1 sim following these guidelines and then post a pic on the blog and then allow for some voting time.

    4) some rules would need to be created for the authors so that 1 didn’t completely take over the story line (since a sims life can change in a few minutes with a marriage) these rules would be posted on a blog page. also if it is a legacy or not would need to be decided (would be an interesting legacy)

    ok so I am way excited and could write my own post on the idea already, lol

    • Kansine September 12, 2009 at 12:30 pm #

      You made it sound even a lot more fun! 😀 Now I’m really excited, hopefully we can make it ^_^ And thanks, you’re so thoughtful when you said that we need to test if it works on my computer too! 🙂

      • Kansine September 12, 2009 at 12:31 pm #

        And BTW, if we share the blog, then people can freely correct my mistakes in english, which is good ;D

        • Samantha September 12, 2009 at 1:14 pm #

          I like your writing style – mistakes and all (you don’t create that many anyways) and of course I had to include you.

          ok so I’m super excited about this idea! Does anyone know how to transfer saved games? (I’m already dieing to open a new blog to share for it – speaking of which anyone know how to do that or are we going to have to play with options?)

          • ♥Mikayla♥ September 12, 2009 at 6:30 pm #

            I think that for the sims, we could all probably make a character and share them all or something and then when we get all of them, add them together, as a family, so we each got to make our own sim! 😀

            • Samantha September 13, 2009 at 12:30 am #

              The only reason I didn’t suggest that at first myself though is because there might be many authors and I think at some point too many sims would be involved.

              • ♥Mikayla♥ September 13, 2009 at 8:08 am #

                Yeah, probably, but if there isn’t then maybe…?

            • meezletoe September 13, 2009 at 7:57 am #

              I don’t know, I think we should make a sim and have them make a family and see how they turn out. But if we were gonna make a customized neighborhood from scratch, then we could all make a bunch of unique sims and add them in there, si? Including families and stuff, maybe. That way people reading the story wouldn’t already be familiar with the people in the neighborhood. It’d be a different experience (or a more different one, haha).

  5. meezletoe September 12, 2009 at 2:12 pm #

    AAAAGH, sweetness, all of you! Kansine, I think there’s a feature on this site where more than one person can own/write in a blog. 😀
    I think…maybe we can send saved games…Because when you go to My Documents, EA, and then Saves it has your saved games there, and maybe we could send it? Possibly? I’d like to try it with someone to see if it works. Then we could send it to everyone to see if it’ll work on their PC’s.
    Celera, yeah you’re right, I think it’d be more fun if it wasn’t a competition type. ^^ Just a group project-type. And Mikayla, I have no idea, my thought-process is off-the-tracks like a runaway train. +HOORAY!!
    @Samantha – good ideas! :O Especially the three-day thing since the Sim would probably have a job. AHH, all of your ideas are awesome, I totally agree, *votes it up.* I’m getting so psyched. XD
    …Kansine makes mistakes? C’est impossible!

    I know how to open a new blog and add users I think. Who wants to do the e-mail saved game test first, to see if it’s possible at all?

    • Samantha September 13, 2009 at 12:39 am #

      ok I have an already empty riverview neighborhood – this would definitly not be the neighborhood to use for the story since Kansine can’t use riverview but it would be perfect for a test try since its empty and probably lowest memory possible of any. I’ll try to send it to you meez – its called make believe because I was going to fill it with characters from fairytales but like i said its not the story neighborhood – its just practice. in a bit I’ll clear a sunset valley and send it to kansine and if its usable for her we’ll use that one.

      ok so I vote the domain name to be passit.wordpress.com or simit.wordpress.com or simblogoverload.wordpress.com (actually like this one the most i think)

      any other nominations? then Meezie here can put up a poll if we’re too undecided and we can all vote until the bugs are worked out (like the neighborhood sending possibility and how to start it)

      • Samantha September 13, 2009 at 1:04 am #

        ps – I said we’d use the one I send to Kansine – I just meant if we choose to use an empty neighborhood and then customize it completely. Something I found out though when I sent the riverview (completely empty) to meezletoe, the files are huge! riverview is 75mb (rounded up) to download the 1st time and most my saved games are about 25-30mb so they don’t email through yahoo. We’d have to download them. (it would be a bit more time consuming then emailing to do this but would work just as efficiently)

        the uncompressed empty riverview (no stores, no school, nothing) was a little over 11mb so the question I ask then is can anyone NOT download something at about 30mb – closer to 20mb when compressed in a zip file. (directed more towards Kansine who has had probs)

        • ♥Mikayla♥ September 13, 2009 at 8:11 am #

          I can download things like that, I think..

        • kansine September 13, 2009 at 1:13 pm #

          I don’t know… O_O All I know is that my computer didn’t load like even one percent of Riverview before saying that it wont work… I could try, of course! Do you have it downloadable on sims 3 or somewhere? 🙂 How can I find it? ^_^ If I don’t succeed to download the neighbourhood, I could download one lot at a time, lol XD

      • ♥Mikayla♥ September 13, 2009 at 8:09 am #

        Hmm, I like simblogoverload.wordpress.com
        😀
        that sounds awesome!

        • meezletoe September 13, 2009 at 9:35 am #

          I like PassIt so far. XD
          SamSineMeezKayLara. HAHAHHAHA…Man, I’m an idiot. I’ll make a poll if there are anymore nominations. But maybe we should hold off until we have the Sim ready? We might have a cool name later if we end up with some sort of unique Sim. I’ll put up a poll on a different page for the basic Sim features we all want before we start making them. I think it’s only five of us so far, so we can all pick a trait, but I’ll figure mine out after we vote. 🙂 And if we decide to pick a name for the blog anywayz, I’ll add a poll on that page too.
          ….
          Page: https://meezletoe.wordpress.com/2009/09/13/passit-cas-poll/

  6. meezletoe September 13, 2009 at 9:40 am #

    I made a PassIt category. XD I used that name since it’s easier, but the name hasn’t been decided yet or anything, so still come up with some or vote or blah.

    • kansine September 13, 2009 at 1:15 pm #

      For me all those names sound good (except maybe SamSineMeezKayLara, LOL) XD So anything is okay for me 🙂

  7. Samantha September 13, 2009 at 2:19 pm #

    meezletoe and I have figured out how to transfer neighborhoods (yay) i’d leave this to her to share but she had to log off so I can’t wait and am doing it. I am currently compiling a set of instruction so that everyone can just read them to understand the process. Its not really complicated its just so that everyone has an idea of how to do it. After I compile them I’ll email them to the shared email that everyone involved will have access to.

    If you want to be involved in creating the story email sim.pass@yahoo.com the needed information will then be sent to you. thats the shared email. the email was just a way to set up the file hosting site and isn’t that important in the end.

    Kansine I will send you an email and we’ll see if you can’t accept neighborhoods as well.

    • kansine September 13, 2009 at 11:22 pm #

      Did you send the email already? I’m just wondering, ’cause at least I can’t see any new email yet :O It’s totally ok if you send it later, I just wanted to know if you’ve sent it in case if something went wrong and I didn’t get it… O_O

      • Samantha September 14, 2009 at 6:13 am #

        yes i did try and send one. I’ll try to send it again. if you dont see it try to email me i might be putting your email in wrong or something.

        (in case you don’t know how to find my email go to a blog of yours and view all comments. any comment i have made will have my info near it)

        • Kansine September 14, 2009 at 7:28 am #

          I got your email, installed the neighbourhood AND IT WORKS!!! 😀 YAY!

  8. ♥Mikayla♥ September 14, 2009 at 7:08 am #

    ok mine is
    midnightmikayla@yahoo.com

    • ♥Mikayla♥ September 14, 2009 at 7:08 am #

      one i made up 😀
      sort of like a junk one I guess…XD
      I dont know…

  9. Samantha September 14, 2009 at 11:03 am #

    OK for those who are interested in being an author for the shared blog story you will need to email sim.pass@yahoo.com This is important so we all know who is participating (meezletoe should maybe make this have its own post announcement thingy)

    Those participating so far:
    Meezletoe
    Samantha (sld48gem)
    Kansine
    Mikayla

    If you are not on the list and would like to be send and email.

    and as a side not to meezletoe you should create the blog and then send the invites or whatever for shared authors. We can then make this a post there and then I have a great idea about how to choose the 1st character

    my idea:
    Have 1 post introducing the search for a sim with certain limitations like no custom content.

    Each author will create a sim (if they have a burst of creativity maybe more than 1 so long as they are not all similiar) and then create a short post including a picture of their sim and a short description that they imagine to be their background. With this idea even the readers could join in and create sims – instead of making a post though they’d upload it into the exchange and just have thier backstory in with the details. They go to the introduction post and provide a link to their sim in the comments.

    At a certain deadline point a poll will be provided with all the choices then everyone can vote for a certain length of time.

    This would all occur during the process of creating the neighborhood because everything in the neighborhood has been wiped clean (no school, store, anything just a few places remain and if someone chooses to they can be removed to build in the location). EVERYTHING is new and fresh and completely unkown to all other blogs.

    • Samantha September 14, 2009 at 11:40 am #

      if i got excited and made a blog domain already would anyone completly hate me?

      its simpass.wordpress.com I did make a few posts but i didn’t really do much on it and i was wanting to respect the other authors so 2 of those posts are still drafts. I’ve invited the authors i know of so far and gave administer rights so we’ll all have complete control. Anyways I’m excited about the project and had some extra time so i couldn’t help myself.

      • kansine September 14, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

        Great that you made the domain already, totally okay! ^_^ Did you mean that the sims that we’re voting for main characters would all have different traits, too? O_O And how about the neighbourhood… will we develop it in turns and pass it on to each other until all needed buildings are there? Anyway I love the idea that the neighbourhood will be unique, I’ve seen sooo many blogs with those same views from Sunset Valley or Riverview already :O

        • Samantha September 14, 2009 at 2:47 pm #

          Well my thoughts are that we all make different sims with the same traits and then any that do not become the main sim can be put into the neighborhood. Now that you mention it though it would be more fun if all sims were different traits.

          As for the neighborhood yes we will all still take turns adding to it. Since we already have authors I think that process can start now.

          I got an idea for a building today so I think I’ll start it (unless meezletoe would like to since it was her idea). I’ll make 1 community lot and one empty house. I chose to do empty because we’ll need houses to drop the extras in 😛

          after i make both those then I’ll send it to the next author which will be meezletoe or you (kansine). Then each person will make 1 community lot and one house (it could be either empty or occupied). After we have all the needed community lots then it would just be houses.

          Something to remember when making houses/sims is that we can’t use any custom content that would need to be downloaded in order to use it.

          everyone can start building and just save them into their bin and drop them in when it is their turn.

          • ♥Mikayla♥ September 14, 2009 at 3:08 pm #

            Ok, so we each make a sim? I can’t start right now. I am a little busy right now but when do we make the sims? I will be able to get on, on Wednesday? Or Monday? I don’t know…but anyways…do we each make a sim? and then each of us make a community lot AND a house???
            I’m confused….
            what about the bins? we download each others sims and houses??

            • Samantha September 14, 2009 at 3:34 pm #

              I made a really long reply on the other blog 🙂

      • meezletoe September 14, 2009 at 4:17 pm #

        Yeah, it’s totally cool ^^. Sorry, I have school and I usually come back home at 3 or 4 since it’s a little far away, so that’s why I hadn’t been responding. And I’ll be able to do this at 4-ish today I think, so if someone’s ready to do it before then, jump right in. I’ll read the other blog real quick right now before I get booted off again. You work fast Sam! 😀

  10. Samantha September 14, 2009 at 3:06 pm #

    http://simpass.wordpress.com/2009/09/14/preparation-discussion/

    I made a post on the blog strictly for this sort of converation (asking questions and figuring out how to create the story)

    I dunno why i did it i just did, so heres the link – it can be deleted too if its not needed.

Leave a Reply

